- Onlinevideo.net – Online Video Strategies, Platforms, News, and Tips - http://www.onlinevideo.net -

Examining the State of Online Ecommerce Video for 2012

Posted By Troy Dreier On December 5, 2012 @ 11:16 am In Video Essentials | 2 Comments

Before we move forward into 2013, it’s time to take a look back. Video ecommerce company SundaySky [1] has just released a useful report called “2012 State of Online Video” [2] that looks at the major trends from the past year and makes predictions for what we can expect in 2013.

Here’s what SundaySky sees as the dominant themes from 2012:

Personally Relevant Videos Get Viewed
Product videos typically get a 50 percent completion rate, but viewers will watch for 2.5 times longer if the video is relevant to them, SundaySky says. People will open emails containing personally relevant videos 40 to 60 percent more, and will click to play personalized videos 80 to 99 percent more.

The Video Ad Market Is Growing
Citing Forrester research, SundaySky says that online video advertising will grow from a $2.9 billion industry to $9 billion in 2017. That’s a healthy 26 percent growth rate each year.

Mobile Video Is Taking Off
Tablet users especially are watching video. Citing comScore research, SundaySky says that over half of tablet users watch online video, compared to only 20 percent of smartphone owners. People are also buying with their tablet computers: tablets accounted for $21 billion in mobile commerce this year, which is 9.2 percent of all ecommerce for the year.

Online Shops Are Using Video
Online video sells. SundaySky says that 48 of the top 50 online retailers users online video, compared to only 16 retailers in 2011. Also, 46 percent of that top 50 have over 1,000 videos on their site.

To see more of the report, including online video trends for 2013, download it for free [2].


Article printed from Onlinevideo.net – Online Video Strategies, Platforms, News, and Tips: http://www.onlinevideo.net

URL to article: http://www.onlinevideo.net/2012/12/examining-the-state-of-online-ecommerce-video-for-2012/

URLs in this post:

[1] SundaySky: http://www.sundaysky.com/

[2] “2012 State of Online Video”: http://info.sundaysky.com/2012-state-of-online-video-research-report

[3] Video Marketing to Multi-Platform Viewers: http://www.onlinevideo.net/2014/01/video-marketing-multi-platform-viewers/

[4] Who Are Omnichannel Shoppers? And Why Is Video Crucial to Them?: http://www.onlinevideo.net/2013/05/who-are-omnichannel-shoppers-and-why-is-video-crucial-to-them/

[5] Clothing Sales Get a Boost from Online Video, Says Report: http://www.onlinevideo.net/2013/05/clothing-sales-get-a-boost-from-online-video-says-report/

[6] Create Video for Each Step of the Customer Journey: http://www.onlinevideo.net/2013/01/create-video-for-each-step-of-the-customer-journey/

[7] How Online Video Is Giving a Boost to Ecommerce: http://www.onlinevideo.net/2012/12/how-online-video-is-giving-a-boost-to-e-commerce/

[8] The Mobile Gap: What Top Shops Know About Mobile Video: http://www.onlinevideo.net/2012/06/the-mobile-gap-what-top-shops-know-about-mobile-video/

[9] Zappos Stays a Step Ahead with Online Sales Videos: http://www.onlinevideo.net/2012/04/zappos-stays-a-step-ahead-with-online-sales-videos/

[10] Three Tips for Using Live Video for Ecommerce: http://www.onlinevideo.net/2011/07/three-tips-for-using-live-video-for-ecommerce/

Copyright © 2009 OnlineVideo.net. All rights reserved.