- Onlinevideo.net – Online Video Strategies, Platforms, News, and Tips - http://www.onlinevideo.net -

Can You Trust Your Video Encoding to the Cloud?

Posted By Troy Dreier On January 4, 2012 @ 11:14 pm In Video Essentials | No Comments

Video encoding is moving from the desktop to the cloud, but it’s a slow evolution, says Peter Csathy, president and CEO of Sorenson Media [1]. Csathy was interviewed on the red carpet during the recent Streaming Media West conference in Los Angeles, where he talked about the cloud’s possibilities.

One reason for the slow move to the cloud is that companies have concerns about privacy and security. But when they try cloud encoding, says Csathy, they typically come back for more.

As that happens, new opportunities present themselves. Companies like Technicolor, for example, are able to deliver dailies instantly to producers, who can then view them on mobile devices anywhere in the world.

Sorenson has been focusing on enterprises lately, says Csathy, making customers comfortable with cloud encoding and emphasizing the fast upload technology that allows them to upload large files without long delays:

“Harness the power of the cloud, take those files — fast file, fast transfer up into the cloud because that’s critical so you can have near real-time review and approval and collaboration — but wrapping it in all kinds of security so that you feel safe taking this prime motion picture and television content that’s worth millions of dollars and that can’t get out, it cannot be leaked out, wrapping that in the security that’s necessary to enable the media and entertainment companies to feel comfortable with that, but now you can transcode it, optimize the delivery, and auto-detect the device that it’s being sent to,” Csathy enthuses.

The move to the cloud is the next evolution of video encoding, Csathy says.

“In the next three years, I see the majority or workflows going into the cloud. You will always have some behind the firewall, but it will be a gradual transition. Once the companies get comfortable with it after getting a taste of it, then more and more of the workflow will go there,” he adds.

Not that Sorenson is only about the cloud. Shortly before the Streaming Media West conference, it introduced Sorenson Squeeze 8, its latest desktop encoder.

“We focus on quality first and foremost, and, with the latest version, it’s faster, higher quality with H.264 also now,” says Csathy, who calls it the gold standard of desktop editing.

Scroll down to view the entire interview.


These Streaming Media Red Carpet Interviews are sponsored by Front Porch Digital. [2]


Article printed from Onlinevideo.net – Online Video Strategies, Platforms, News, and Tips: http://www.onlinevideo.net

URL to article: http://www.onlinevideo.net/2012/01/can-you-trust-your-video-encoding-to-the-cloud/

URLs in this post:

[1] Sorenson Media: http://www.sorensonmedia.com/

[2] Front Porch Digital.: http://fpdigital.com/

[3] How Cloud Video Delivery Can Help You Slash Costs: http://www.onlinevideo.net/2013/02/how-cloud-video-delivery-can-help-you-slash-costs/

[4] Three Encoding Tips from Zencoder for Great-Looking Video: http://www.onlinevideo.net/2013/01/three-encoding-tips-from-zencoder-for-great-looking-video/

[5] Production Minds Puts Video Production Management in the Cloud: http://www.onlinevideo.net/2013/01/production-minds-puts-video-production-management-in-the-cloud/

[6] A Buyer’s Guide to Encoding and Transcoding Products: 2012: http://www.onlinevideo.net/2012/08/a-buyers-guide-to-encoding-and-transcoding-products-2012/

[7] A Buyer's Guide to Encoding and Transcoding Products: http://www.onlinevideo.net/2011/10/a-buyers-guide-to-encoding-and-transcoding-products/

[8] Sorenson Squeeze 7: What You Need to Know: http://www.onlinevideo.net/2011/01/sorenson-squeeze-7-what-you-need-to-know/

[9] Down with Long URLs! Sorenson Offers Pro Video Shortener: http://www.onlinevideo.net/2010/10/down-with-long-urls-sorenson-offers-pro-video-shortener/

Copyright © 2009 OnlineVideo.net. All rights reserved.