- Onlinevideo.net – Online Video Strategies, Platforms, News, and Tips - http://www.onlinevideo.net -

At Last! Apple Final Cut Pro X Gains Multicam Editing

Posted By Troy Dreier On January 31, 2012 @ 11:54 pm In News | Comments Disabled

Professional video editors who found Apple Final Cut Pro X unusable because of its lack of multicam editing will have to take another look. Apple [1] released software update 10.0.3 today, adding that most-requested missing feature.

Video editors can now use FCPX to sync up to 64 angles of video and photos. They also gain enhanced chroma keying for making complex adjustments, as well as enhanced XML for third-party app and plug-in support.

It’s the multicam support, however, that will get the attention. Apple got people talking in June, 2011, when it radically overhauled Final Cut Pro, changing the traditional interface and dropping the price to $299. While many praised the new version’s speed improvements, background rendering, and magnetic timeline, some professional editors felt abandoned [2] since the program lacked essentials like multicam editing, support for Final Cut Pro 7 projects, and professional DVD and Blu-ray creation.

FCPX 10.0.3’s multicam support automatically syncs clips using audio waveforms, time and date, or timecode. A multicam clip can include a mix of formats, frame sizes, and frame rates. The new Angle Viewer lets editors play multiple angles at once and cut from one to another.

One omission of FCPX is the application’s inability to import Final Cut Pro 7 projects. Apple hasn’t built that in, but it notes that software developer Intelligent Assistance [3] has created a $9.99 app called 7toX for Final Cut Pro [4] which uses XML to import FCP7 projects.

The upgrade also includes a beta version of new broadcast monitoring tools, which let editors ensure their work meets broadcast specifications.

The FCPX 10.0.3 upgrade is free to FCPX owners. Apple offers a 30-day free trial of Final Cut Pro X from the Mac App Store.


Article printed from Onlinevideo.net – Online Video Strategies, Platforms, News, and Tips: http://www.onlinevideo.net

URL to article: http://www.onlinevideo.net/2012/01/at-last-apple-final-cut-pro-x-gains-multicam-editing/

URLs in this post:

[1] Apple: http://www.apple.com

[2] some professional editors felt abandoned: http://www.onlinevideo.net/2011/06/apple-final-cut-pro-x-reviewed-not-ready-for-professionals/

[3] Intelligent Assistance: http://www.intelligentassistance.com/

[4] 7toX for Final Cut Pro: http://assistedediting.intelligentassistance.com/7toX/

[5] Final Cut Pro X Tutorial: How to Get Better Encoding Results: http://www.onlinevideo.net/2012/12/final-cut-pro-x-tutorial-how-to-get-better-encoding-results/

[6] Apple Final Cut Pro X 10.0.6: Inside the Biggest Update Yet: http://www.onlinevideo.net/2012/11/apple-final-cut-pro-x-10-0-6-inside-the-biggest-update-yet/

[7] End HD Video Horrors: Beauty Box Video 2.0 Smooths Rough Edges: http://www.onlinevideo.net/2012/05/end-hd-video-horrors-beauty-box-video-2-0-smooths-rough-edges/

[8] How Apple Took the 'Pro' Out of Final Cut Pro: http://www.onlinevideo.net/2012/04/how-apple-took-the-pro-out-of-final-cut-pro/

[9] The Apple Final Cut Pro X 10.0.3 Update: Read Our Hands-On Review: http://www.onlinevideo.net/2012/02/the-apple-final-cut-pro-x-10-0-3-update-read-our-hands-on-review/

[10] Learning to Love Final Cut Pro X: http://www.onlinevideo.net/2011/12/learning-to-love-final-cut-pro-x/

[11] Hands-on with the Apple Final Cut Pro X 10.0.1 Upgrade: http://www.onlinevideo.net/2011/09/hands-on-with-the-apple-final-cut-pro-x-10-1-upgrade/

[12] Is Final Cut Pro X Ready for Professional Use? : http://www.onlinevideo.net/2011/07/is-final-cut-pro-x-ready-for-professional-use/

Copyright © 2009 OnlineVideo.net. All rights reserved.