- Onlinevideo.net – Online Video Strategies, Platforms, News, and Tips - http://www.onlinevideo.net -

Editing with Windows Live Movie Maker: Video 101

Posted By Guest Post On February 4, 2011 @ 12:46 am In Video Essentials | No Comments

[1]The following lesson was created by Vimeo for its Vimeo Video School [2]. It’s used here with permission. Look for a new lesson each week.

If you’ve shot a video on your camera but have no idea where to go from there, then open up your eyes and ears and prepare to be enlightened! This lesson is for PC users. If you have a Mac, you’re going to want to check out that lesson here [3].

So, let’s say you’ve just gotten the last shot of your awesome film and you want the world to see it, where do you begin? First, call the entire world and tell them to get prepared because you’re about to blow their minds… you know, right after you edit it and stuff.

Step 1:
The first step is to get the footage onto your computer. You can either use your pychic powers or you can do one of two things: connect the camera to your computer with a USB cable or if your computer has a card reader built into it, you can take the memory card out of your camera and plug it into the memory card reader in your computer. Either way is fine. Locate the memory card on your computer and drag the video files to your desktop so it can now live safely on your computer. We also recommend making a folder with the title of your project and placing the video files in that folder for safe keeping.

Step 2:
Now it’s time to open up Windows Live Movie Maker and begin editing. Yay, the fun part! Once you’re in the program, click on the ‘browse for videos’ button in the top menu bar and find the video files you want to edit. This will automatically add the files to the timeline where you will do most of your editing.

You can easily drag the files around in the timeline to set the order you’d like. This will help you create a coherent storyline. If you want to cut a clip, click anywhere on the video and a line will appear where you clicked. You can then click ‘Edit’ and use the ‘Trim’ or ‘Split’ tool to perform the action of your choice. Choose wisely, young grasshopper, but don’t be afraid to experiment. If you choose ‘Trim’, you can then choose your start and end points in the preview window using the play bar. Choose ‘Save Trim’ to save your changes. Awesome, you’re doing great.

Step 3:
Next up is sound and music. Let’s spice it up a little bit! Click on ‘Video Tools’ in the menu bar and there you can choose to alter your video volume as a whole, or to fade in and out between clips. You can choose ‘Add music’ under the home tab to select music to add to your video. Once you add music, you can use the music tools menu to alter it just as you can with your video’s audio. If you’re making a silent film, then this section does not apply to you. (I’m looking at you, Charlie Chaplin).

Step 4:
Now you can add transitions and effects! Transitions can help the flow of your video by making cuts between clips more fluid. Effects can greatly alter the look and feel of your video. But don’t go crazy! Too much of either of these things can make your video look cheesy. And we don’t want that. So use these tools in moderation.

Add effects by selecting the clip, choosing ‘Visual Effects’ and then clicking on the one you want. Transitions are added by choosing ‘Animations’ in the menu bar and then clicking the white space between two clips and choosing which transition you’d like.

Step 5:
Now I’ll bet you’re wondering how to add text and titles? Choose the home button, and choose between ‘Title’, ‘Caption’ and ‘Credits’. Once you add text, you can use the text tool to change the font, size, color, etc. Play with the different positions on the screen to get the desired effect.

Step 6:
Now it’s time to export! This step takes your project and turns it into a video file that can be easily shared and uploaded to Vimeo. To create a custom profile for Vimeo (recommended), click on the home button, and then the ‘Save Movie’ option. Choose ‘Create Custom Setting’ and then input our recommended compression settings [4]. Save your setting. Then go back to ‘Save Movie’ in the menu bar and choose the Vimeo preset you just created. Name your file, choose where on your computer you’d like to save it to, and BOOM! You’re done! That’s it! Once it’s done saving, before it cools off, upload that hot video to Vimeo! Fresh.

So, let’s go over what we’ve learned:

  • Get the footage off of your camera and onto your computer.
  • Open up Windows Live Movie Maker and import all of your footage so you can begin working.
  • You can drag, cut and trim your files exactly how you want them to create a great storyline.
  • Add some music to heighten the tone of your video.
  • Include some transitions to bridge your clips together. Add effects as necessary.
  • Throw in some text and titles if you feel like it.
  • Export that video and share it with the whole world on Vimeo!

Ready for more? Click here to learn how to stop shaky camera syndrome [5] or view more lessons at the Vimeo Video School [2].


Article printed from Onlinevideo.net – Online Video Strategies, Platforms, News, and Tips: http://www.onlinevideo.net

URL to article: http://www.onlinevideo.net/2011/02/editing-with-windows-live-movie-maker-video-101/

URLs in this post:

[1] Image: http://www.onlinevideo.net/wp-content/uploads/2011/02/Vimeo5_LG.jpg

[2] Vimeo Video School: http://vimeo.com/videoschool

[3] here: http://www.onlinevideo.net/2011/01/editing-with-apple-imovie-video-101/

[4] recommended compression settings: http://www.vimeo.com/help/compression

[5] stop shaky camera syndrome: http://www.onlinevideo.net/2011/02/stop-shaky-camera-syndrome-video-101/

[6] Keep it in Focus: Video 101: http://www.onlinevideo.net/2013/04/keep-it-in-focus-video-101/

[7] Understanding Jump Cuts: Video 101: http://www.onlinevideo.net/2013/04/understanding-jump-cuts-video-101/

[8] How to Make a Non-Profit Promo: Video 101: http://www.onlinevideo.net/2013/03/how-to-make-a-non-profit-promo-video-101/

[9] How to Connect Your Computer and TV: Video 101: http://www.onlinevideo.net/2013/01/how-to-connect-your-computer-and-tv-video-101/

[10] The Many Uses of a Ring Light: Video 101: http://www.onlinevideo.net/2012/12/video-101-the-many-uses-of-a-ring-light/

[11] How to Make an Infinity Wall: Video 101: http://www.onlinevideo.net/2012/12/video-101-how-to-make-an-infinity-wall/

[12] How to Make an Animated Title Sequence: Video 101: http://www.onlinevideo.net/2012/12/how-to-make-an-animated-title-sequence-video-101/

[13] Essential Video Gear for Traveling: Video 101: http://www.onlinevideo.net/2012/07/essential-video-gear-for-traveling-video-101/

[14] Learn Final Cut Pro Keyboard Shortcuts: Video 101: http://www.onlinevideo.net/2012/04/learn-final-cut-pro-keyboard-shortcuts-video-101/

[15] Get Great Results from Smartphone Video Cameras: Video 101: http://www.onlinevideo.net/2012/03/get-great-results-from-smartphone-video-cameras-video-101/

[16] Light up Your Videos with a Bounce: Video 101: http://www.onlinevideo.net/2011/12/light-up-your-videos-with-a-bounce-video-101/

[17] What Is Motion Design and How Can You Use It? Video 101: http://www.onlinevideo.net/2011/12/what-is-motion-design-and-how-can-you-use-it-video-101/

[18] Fast Focus Tips for DSLRs, Video Cameras, Smartphones: Video 101: http://www.onlinevideo.net/2011/11/fast-focus-tips-for-dslrs-video-cameras-smartphones-video-101/

[19] Color Your World with Gels and Light Diffusors: Video 101: http://www.onlinevideo.net/2011/11/color-your-world-with-gels-and-light-diffusors/

[20] Get Some Perspective with POV: Video 101: http://www.onlinevideo.net/2011/11/get-some-perspective-with-pov-video-101/

[21] Learn to Create Scary Special Effects: Video 101: http://www.onlinevideo.net/2011/10/learn-to-create-scary-special-effects-video-101/

[22] Learn to Use Zoom, Moving Camera, & Moving Zoom: Video 101: http://www.onlinevideo.net/2011/10/learn-to-use-zoom-moving-camera-moving-zoom-video-101/

[23] What Is Crop Factor and Why Does it Matter? Video 101: http://www.onlinevideo.net/2011/10/what-is-crop-factor-and-why-does-it-matter-video-101/

[24] Who's Who on the Crew? Video 101: http://www.onlinevideo.net/2011/10/whos-who-on-the-crew-video-101/

[25] Room Tone -- Why You Should Capture the Sound of Silence: Video 101: http://www.onlinevideo.net/2011/09/room-tone-why-you-should-capture-the-sound-of-silence/

[26] How to Create Storyboards: Video 101: http://www.onlinevideo.net/2011/09/how-to-create-storyboards-video-101/

[27] The Best Tripod Tricks: Video 101: http://www.onlinevideo.net/2011/08/the-best-tripod-tricks-video-101/

[28] Varying Your Shot Composition: Video 101: http://www.onlinevideo.net/2011/08/varying-your-shot-composition-video-101/

[29] Learn to Create a Tilt-Shift Effect in Your Videos: Video 101: http://www.onlinevideo.net/2011/08/learn-to-create-a-tilt-shift-effect-in-your-videos-video-101/

[30] Setting the Pace While Editing: Video 101: http://www.onlinevideo.net/2011/08/setting-the-pace-while-editing-video-101/

[31] Nighttime Video Shooting with a DSLR Camera: Video 101: http://www.onlinevideo.net/2011/07/nighttime-video-shooting-with-a-dslr-camera-video-101/

[32] Create a Timelapse Video with a DSLR Camera: Video 101: http://www.onlinevideo.net/2011/07/create-a-timelapse-video-with-a-dslr-camera-video-101/

[33] Recording Sound for DSLR Cameras: Video 101: http://www.onlinevideo.net/2011/07/recording-sound-for-dslr-cameras-video-101/

[34] Shooting Video with a DSLR Camera: Video 101: http://www.onlinevideo.net/2011/07/shooting-video-with-a-dslr-camera-video-101/

[35] Choose the Right DSLR Accessories: Video 101: http://www.onlinevideo.net/2011/07/choose-the-right-dslr-accessories-video-101/

[36] Choosing a DSLR Lens: Video 101: http://www.onlinevideo.net/2011/06/choosing-a-dslr-lens-video-101/

[37] Learn How to Set Up Your DSLR Camera: Video 101: http://www.onlinevideo.net/2011/06/learn-how-to-set-up-your-dslr-camera-video-101/

[38] The ABCs of DSLR Cameras: Video 101: http://www.onlinevideo.net/2011/05/the-abcs-of-dslr-cameras/

[39] The 180-Degree Rule Explained: Video 101: http://www.onlinevideo.net/2011/05/the-180-degree-rule-explained-video-101/

[40] Learn the Difference Between Frame Rate and Shutter Speed: Video 101: http://www.onlinevideo.net/2011/05/learn-the-difference-between-frame-rate-and-shutter-speed/

[41] Getting started with Adobe After Effects: Video 101: http://www.onlinevideo.net/2011/05/getting-started-with-adobe-after-effects-video-101/

[42] How to Create a Timelapse Movie: Video 101: http://www.onlinevideo.net/2011/04/how-to-create-a-timelapse-movie-video-101/

[43] Preparing Your Gear for a Shoot: Video 101: http://www.onlinevideo.net/2011/04/preparing-your-gear-for-a-shoot-video-101/

[44] Understanding Framing and Composition: Video 101: http://www.onlinevideo.net/2011/04/understanding-framing-and-composition-video-101/

[45] Mastering Three-Point Lighting: Video 101: http://www.onlinevideo.net/2011/04/mastering-three-point-lighting-video-101/

[46] How to Color Correct Your Videos: Video 101: http://www.onlinevideo.net/2011/03/how-to-color-correct-your-videos/

[47] How to White Balance Your Camera: Video 101: http://www.onlinevideo.net/2011/03/how-to-white-balance-your-camera-video-101/

[48] Learn to Hold Your Camera Like a Pro: Video 101: http://www.onlinevideo.net/2011/03/learn-to-hold-your-camera-like-a-pro/

[49] The ABCs of Tripods: Video 101: http://www.onlinevideo.net/2011/03/the-abcs-of-tripods-video-101/

[50] The Basics of Image Resolution: Video 101: http://www.onlinevideo.net/2011/03/the-basics-of-image-resolution-video-101/

[51] The Basics of Video Editing: Video 101: http://www.onlinevideo.net/2011/01/the-basics-of-video-editing-video-101/

[52] How to Shoot Your Video: Video 101: http://www.onlinevideo.net/2011/01/video-101-how-to-shoot-your-video/

[53] How to Choose a Camera: Video 101: http://www.onlinevideo.net/2011/01/video-101-how-to-choose-a-camera/

Copyright © 2009 OnlineVideo.net. All rights reserved.